WWMAD: What Would Marie Antoinette Do?

I know what you’re thinking: I don’t want advice from Marie Antoinette. That’s a bad idea. And really weird. Plus, wasn’t she a hot mess who got her head cut off?  Some of you might even think, why would I emulate Marie when I could froth over the likes of Audrey Hepburn or Grace Kelly?

I hear you, and have prepared three retorts in exchange:

1. I don’t know anything about Audrey Hepburn or Grace Kelly. However, I did read a bunch of stuff on Marie Antoinette and that information needs to go somewhere.

2. Everyone says they idolize Audrey Hepburn. That’s really tired. She’s the safe answer, the organic vegetable of international celebrity. And truthfully, most people don’t eat organic vegetables. They eat wing dings. As a result, it’s people like Snookie from Jersey Shore who make you and I feel good about ourselves.

3. Marie Antoinette had a life that is far more fabulous (and tragic) than you or I could ever fathom and you would be lucky to learn from her. Marie Antoinette partied hard, was romantically linked to man, woman and beast (we’ll get into that later) and (like my hero Martha Stewart) was even imprisoned. Marie was the Lindsay Lohan of the 18thcentury and her life has much to teach.

Expect lessons to be posted forthwith, as well as updates on modern Maries and what they could have learned from our rosy Queen.

Leave a Reply

